Dan Byron – vocals, guitar, flute
Sergiu “6” Mitrofan – keyboards, guitar, vocals
Dan Georgescu – guitar
Laszlo Demeter – bass
Ovidiu Cristian – drums


2007 – Forbidden Drama / CD
2008 – Acoustic Drama / DVD
2009 – A Kind of Alchemy / CD
2011 – Perfect / CD
2012 – Live Underground / DVD
2013 – 30 Seconds of Fame / CD
2014 – Melancolic / CD
2015 – Electric Marching Band / DVD
2015 – Eternal Return / CD



hen byron played their first show in 2006, lead singer and composer Dan Byron was already an established star on the Romanian rock scene, after years of playing in cult bands Kumm and Urma. The other members were no strangers to the scene either – most notably, keyboardist 6fingers had already achieved European fame with his metal band Magica, while former member Costin Oprea was an experienced and highly sought-after blues guitarist. These divergent influences, complete with Dan Byron’s progressive/acoustic rock background, later came to define the band’s ever-expanding, chameleonic sound.


n 2008, inspired by the famous MTV Unplugged sessions, they completely re-orchestrated the songs from their 2007 debut Forbidden Drama and filmed an unplugged show in a Transylvanian citadel, later released on DVD as Acoustic Drama. After releasing a second album the following year (A Kind of Alchemy), 2010 finds them 100m underground in a Transylvanian salt mine filming the two-part concert Live Underground. The salt mine concert was a massive undertaking which attracted huge media attention – enough for the concert to be broadcast on HBO, prior to the DVD and Blu-ray release.


fter reworking well-known Romanian songs for their 2011 covers album Perfect, byron teamed up with Romanian music icon Nicu Alifantis and played the live soundtrack for a musical adaptation of Shakespeare’s classic The Merry Wives of Windsor at the Metropolis Theater in Bucharest – a project that would keep the band busy for most of the next two years.


eleased in spring 2013 and prefaced by the hit single “Road Trip”, their fourth studio release 30 Seconds of Fame (also released in Romanian as 30 de secunde de faimă) is a tasteful mix of rock & blues grooves, acoustic vibes and electronic textures – a definite step forward in the band’s tireless musical exploration. After a few months of touring in support of their new album, byron began working on the soundtrack of a new TV series produced by HBO Romania – “Rămâi cu mine” (aka. “Shall We Kiss”). They composed more than 15 new songs for the show and all of them can be found on the soundtrack album Melancolic, released in early 2014.

30 Seconds of Fame is an extremely interesting release for those who know how to listen to rock music with their ears wide open, those aware that poetry isn’t yet completely gone from the local scene.

Zoltan Varga


fter countless national tours, having played the major festivals in their home country for years in a row, opening for Slash feat. Myles Kennedy and The Conspirators in 2013 and representing Romania at the World Fest in Chennai, India, during the Saarang 2014 International Festival, byron’s latest video project is certainly their most daring to date: in December 2014 they gave a sold-out show at the National Theatre in Cluj, Transylvania, performing alongside a military marching band and a students’ choir, with renowned violinist Alexander Balanescu as a special guest. The concert, titled Electric Marching Band, premiered on HBO Romania and was later released on DVD following a tour of limited showings in Romanian cinemas.


he band are currently promoting their latest album, released via Universal Music Romania: „Eternal Return” was recorded in High Resolution Sound in Dublin at Windmill Lane Studios, mixed in Bucharest by drummer and sound engineer Dan Georgescu and mastered in London at Abbey Road Studios by Frank Arkwright (New Order, Joy Division, Blur, Arcade Fire, etc). The album has 12 tracks each corresponding to a month of the year, and is essentially a story about cyclicity, with historical and mythological motifs. The band’s sound has also developed; „Eternal Return” is the band’s most brazen, melodic and modern offering to date.



t the end of 2016, the band held a 10-year anniversary tour; the last concert of the series, in Bucharest featuring the Muse string Quartet, was filmed and broadcast on the national television channel TVR. They also released a 10-disc box-set containing all releases until then.


he beginning of 2017 finds the band working for a new project – Solo Together, with every band member (including the sound engineer) writing and recording a solo album. The result were 5 separate albums with songs which are currently promoted in the band’s live shows.